VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. (WSET) - A person in Virginia Beach has been ticketed $100 for allegedly smoking with a child in the car with them.
According to the citation, which was tweeted out by Virginia Beach Police Department Traffic Safety, the violation happened on Monday around 8:30 a.m.
The official charge on the citation was smoking in a vehicle with a minor present.
Virginia law changed in 2016, making it illegal to smoke in motor vehicles with the presence of a minor under the age of eight.
The law says that any person who smokes in a motor vehicle when a minor is under the age of eight will be subject to a civil penalty of $100. The offense may be charged on a uniform traffic summons form. The violation is a secondary offense.
No further details were released about the incident in Virginia Beach.