A proposed bill in South Carolina would fine drivers who take their time in the left-hand passing lane up of a multi-lane highway up to $200, according to The Post and Courier.
The Post and Courier reported last Sunday that the proposal would impact those cruising in such lanes “at less than the normal speed of traffic.”
South Carolina already prohibits such behavior with fines of up to $100, but it remains unclear how often the rule is enforced.
State Sen. Ross Turner (R-Greensville) last Sunday said his proposal up for debate next year is a “safety thing” as slow passing lane drivers can cause traffic jams and accidents.
Turner added that such problems occur when people are forced to brake suddenly, and he noted that frustration with the issue can also cause road rage.
“I constantly got stuck behind people in the left lane and said, ‘That’s a great idea,’” he said of the Oklahoma law that inspired his proposal.
“Don’t drive slow in the left lane,” Turner added of the message he hopes drivers take from his measure.
Oklahoma implemented a law last month fining those who travel slowly in the left lane approximately $235.
Turner on Sunday admitted he is unsure how his proposal would be enforced, but the measure was pre-filed earlier this month before coming up for debate next year.
South Carolina highway troopers wrote 1,132 tickets in 2016 to drivers violating the section of state law including slow passing lane driving.
The section of law also covers crossing the center lane into oncoming traffic, however, leaving it unclear how many drivers were cited for the other traffic violation.
South Carolina’s Department of Public Safety, which gave statistics about the law, added that it remains unclear how many people were actually fined for violating the measure.